Omelettes on the Shore

DSC_0014

The large off-white fridge was packed with food. Muttering to himself, Nakata checked out everything, finally taking out some eggs, a green pepper, and butter. He rinsed off the pepper, sliced it into thin strips, and sautéed it. Next he broke the eggs into a bowl and whipped them up with chopsticks. He pulled out a frying pan and proceeded to make two green-pepper omelettes with a practiced touch. He topped off with toast and took the whole meal over to the dining table, along with hot tea. 

“You’re quite the cook,” Hoshino said. “I’m impressed.”

“I’ve always lived alone so I’m used to it.”

Eggs, you can’t beat them! Well… actually… you can! (Sorry, couldn’t resist that one.)

Anyway this “practiced touch” thing Murakami mentions turns out to be pretty important in the making of an omelette, as I was to find out. Being completely honest omelettes are not something I have much experience with making, but having finally cracked it (no pun intended) I think I’ll be making more of these in the future. This was a perfect lazy Monday dinner as it was tasty and required very little time or effort.

Rather than sautéing the pepper I roasted it a little in the oven with some olive oil, salt, and pepper as I had a bit of time on my hands. I sliced it up into nice fine slices and kept them to the side ready to pop in later.

I whisked three eggs, salt, pepper, rosemary, and a dash of milk (for a bit of a fluffy texture) together.

Next I melted a decent knob of butter into the pan at a medium heat and waited until it was fully melted before tipping in the eggs. I let it sit for about 30 seconds before I started dragging the outside into the middle and letting the runny egg fill up the displaced space. I did this for about 30 seconds or until I noticed a nice firm base form around the outside while the middle was still silken but not raw.Nearly there!

I tossed in the roasted pepper onto one half of the omelette and then soon after it was folding time. Taking a fork I was able to easily lift the omelette up at one side and gently roll over in half to make a nice crescent moon shape.

DSC_0009

Served with some buttered toast and a mug of Barry’s tea you can’t go wrong.

That’s all, yolks!

 

Kafka on the Shore

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

