A Sandwich Made in Heaven

DSC_0042

“Thinking about lunch. Smoked salmon with pedigreed lettuce and razor-sharp slices of onions that have been soaked in ice water, brushed with horseradish and mustard, served on French butter rolls baked in the hot ovens of Kinokuniya. A sandwich made in heaven!”

I will forever be indebted to the Earl of Sandwich for bringing the simple joy of tasty fillings encased in two slices of bread to the world. One of the hardest things about living in Korea is lack of quality sandwich ingredients close to hand, but absence makes the heart grow fonder and a good sandwich is now my own personal Holy Grail. That may seem like a bit much, but I really really love sandwiches.

It was only a matter of time before I hunted down the ingredients to bring one of the many Murakami sandwiches to life and it was hard to resist recreating one of such divine connotation.

About the ingredients, first of all, I had no idea what pedigreed lettuce was, and I still don’t know as Google was equally dumbfounded. I just went for some nice butter-head lettuce instead. Also, as I previously mentioned sandwich ingredients are hard to come by in Korea and this is especially the case in terms of bread. I had to settle for a crusty baguette which was perfectly fine with me. And just a little note about soaking the onions in ice water, this is an excellent pro-tip for sandwich making. I was a little worried about chucking raw onions into the sandwich as they had my eyes absolutely streaming when I was cutting them up, but I think the soakage actually neutralises some of that acid but doesn’t take away any of the flavour.

I really have to tip my hat to Haruki here; the flavours in this sandwich are just excellent. I love me some wholegrain mustard as is, but paired with the horseradish sauce there’s a nice bit of heat there that really goes well with the smoked salmon. I  wouldn’t add or take anything away from it ingredient wise either; everything in there works so well together and makes for a truly satisfying sandwich.

And God said, “Let there be sandwiches,” and there were sandwiches and  God saw that the sandwiches were good.

DSC_0006

 

 

 

– Dance Dance Dance

Leave a Reply

